Sunday, January 8, 2012

What is Chakra and did the Ancient Egyptians practice it

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel, or vortex, and it refers to each of the seven energy centers, our energy system, is composed.

These energy centers are situated along the spinal column and are located between the base of the spine and the crown of the head.
Information on the chakra meanings found in ancient texts has been able to be substantiated by modern man using current equipment.

How did they know?

Ancient healers began to associate various parts of the body with such things as their emotions, their physical state, and their spiritual being.
They worked out the location of various chakras and their meanings. And then they learned how to use them for healing. Using this ancient information combined with our current knowledge we now know that the concept of chakras is actually true.

These chakras, or energy centers, function as pumps or valves, regulating the flow of energy or electricity through our energy system. The functioning of the chakras reflects decisions we make concerning how we choose to respond to conditions in our life. We open and close these valves when we decide what to think, and what to feel, and through which perceptual filter we choose to experience the world around us.

All of your senses, perceptions and possible states of awareness, everything that we can experience, can be divided into seven categories and can then be associated with a particular chakra. Thus, the chakras represent not only particular parts of your physical body, but also particular parts of your consciousness. Deep isn't it;-)

It is the Chakras that transmits life force energy through the body. But before I can outline the Ancient Egyptian Chakra I need to give a brief explanation of each chakra, its Location and its properties.

There are seven major chakras between the base of the spine and the crown of the head and each governs specific bodily functions. There are also chakras located below the feet and above the head.

The first chakra is called the Base Chakra or the Root Chakra... and is located at the base of the spine. It governs survival, base instincts, the sex drive and physical life. red and black

The second chakra is called the Sacral Chakra or the navel chakra... and is located below the navel. It governs the area of the sacrum which is the large bone of the pelvis between the hip bones. It is associated with your emotions, sensuality, intimacy, sexuality and creativity. Orange.

The third chakra is called the Solar Plexus Chakra... and is named after the complex network of nerves in the stomach. It may also be called the Power chakra as it is the area governing personal power. Yellow.

The fourth chakra is called the Heart Chakra and is located in the center of the chest near the heart. It is associated with love, compassion, unconditional love and happiness. Green and Pink.

The fifth chakra is called the Throat Chakra and is located above the collar bone. It governs the area of the throat and the ears. It is associated with communication. Blue

The sixth chakra is called the The Brow or Third Eye Chakra and is located in the forehead above the eyebrows. It governs the area of the pineal gland. The pineal gland has been believed since ancient times to be where 'second sight' or psychic sight was located. Purple.

The seventh chakra is called the Crown Chakra and it is located at the crown of the head right above the top of the head. It is associated with the pituitary gland, spirituality, intelligence and deep thought. Violet and White.
What Do Chakras Do

The chakra meanings are often associated with your spiritual journey. While you maybe aware that energy flows within the physical body, the energy that flows within the etheric body will affect you not only physically, but also emotionally, mentally and spiritually.

If you have some imbalance in your system it may indicate that the chakra is not spinning properly. Chakra balancing may be needed to improve your health and bring the chakras back to a state of perfect balance.

Although you are born with your chakras in balance, it does not take long for life's experiences to cause a state of imbalance to occur. These blocks in the energy flow within the human energy field may cause anything from minor illnesses or a sense of feeling not quite right, through to a major illness.

Particular colors and sounds (vibrations) are associated with each chakra and so it is believed they can be used for healing by using specific colors or vibrations to heal the chakra with healing crystals of those specific colors or vibrations will work on individual chakras.

1 comment:

  1. Hi I really like this chakra image. Do you own it? Where can I find it? Thanks


About Me

My photo
Just passing through and enjoying life. I use this blog to keep hold of my thoughts & opinions. In general anything that interest me.