Monday, May 3, 2010

Dendera Zodiac - Stargate

The Stargate Is a zodiac map of the stars showing the 12 constellations of the Zodiac and the planets.

Based on the Ancient Egyptian calendar which was based on lunar cycles of around 30 days and on the rising of the star Sothis (Sirius).

The celestial arch is represented by a disc held up by four pillars of the sky in the form of women, between which are inserted falcon-headed spirits. On the first ring, 36 spirits symbolize the 360 days of the Egyptian year.

On an inner circle, the constellations, showing the signs of the zodiac. Some of these are represented in the same Greco-Roman iconographic forms as their familiar counterparts (e.g. the Aries, Taurus, Scorpio, and Capricorn. Aquarius is represented as the flood god Hapy, holding two vases which have water pouring out - It is exactly the same as the Mesopotamian zodiac.

Below is the original carved map now shown @ the Louvre after being taken by Napoleons Troops

The outline below shows in greater detail the Stargate

No comments:

Post a Comment

About Me

My photo
Just passing through and enjoying life. I use this blog to keep hold of my thoughts & opinions. In general anything that interest me.